Dwarf Cleric guy -C&C? -updated

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

Dwarf Cleric guy -C&C? -updated

This is a commission for a D&D gamer. I do a bunch of RP and MMORPG character portraits, but I've been doing them in a kind of junky cartoon/comic style, and I want to get away from that. This is WIP for the first more painted one I'm trying. All the colors and some light and shadow are in, but no detail or definition as yet. I'd love any C&C you have at this point. I'm really new to the digital painting (rather than just coloring) arena, this will be the first finished (non-speedpaint) one I've done.

I may not change the pose but if you see something funky I would love to know so I can keep it in mind for next time. Any crits about color choices, texture, anything I could be doing better lay it on me!.

Last edited by Jane Radstrom; November 6th, 2003 at 06:17 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    well, since it's still being worked, I can't really crit the lighting, but there's nothing about his design to suggest that he's a cleric. He looks like a normal warrior to me. Maybe lighten his armor up, I think a cleric would want to be able to move quickly (as quickly as dwarves may) especially in battle. The shield would probably only hinder him. Perhaps give him a medicinal pouch and a white band, or white robes or something along the clerical lines. Hope that all makes sense. Peace

www.ArtDL.com

CA Sketchbooks:
    Members exclusive party:
    Phuzion's V.I.P. Lounge

Public fun:
    Phuzion Sketchbook

Thanks
    Aren't clerics supposed to dislike violence?
    Anyway, apart from that, that dwarf's lookin cute ^_^ Keep postin updates!

Thanks

C&C

personally, i think it looks too much like the dwarf from the LOTR movies. Just personal opinion, but you might want to consider it.