Thanks

What 3d software to use?

I'm a highschool freshman and I was wondering which 3d modelling software would suit my needs the most. I have gmax but the thing is you can't render with it, and I am looking for something that I could use to display my talents. Whether for my portfolio for college admission or simply for posting on the internet, I need something that can produce viewable pieces. If there is any way to do it in Gmax or if there is just better software to use please tell me. I am looking for free software for now, because as a high school freshman my resevoir of cash is rather shallow.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    If your looking for free software, may i suggest something like Blender, its free and it has quite good functions considering, but it has quite a tricky interface.
    www.blender.org
    Alternatively, try a heavy weight such Maya personal learning edition, which has just about everything you might want.
    maya
    cheers

Thanks

Try that

Perhaps you should buy issues of digit magazine or computer arts magazine. Both of them always come with some demos and some free software. I think they have something for you every two or three months.

But if you want to work on top of the line with modern solutions I think you have to buy a software.

Some companies have real cheap versions of their softwares.

Good luck!

Thanks

Modelling Program

Wings3d is the best subdivision surface modeler in existence barring perhaps Mirai. As an added bonus it is free. If you want to model high poly and/or organic subjects this is where to go:

www.wings3d.org (the www. is required)

Wings has an incredibly clean interface and it will probably take a while for you to find some of its more advanced features, and you will need to read some tutorials about subdivision and box modeling to get the most out of it.