Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Thanks

Getting a job :(. And why art sucks even when it kicks ass.

Getting a job in any kind of art related genre, is like trying to hit the moon with your piss on a late friday night.
    If you have a degree in art, this makes it even harder for you as nobody ELSE will hire you while you live in the gutter trying to get money for WATER.

I've studied art since forever and well. I can't get a job anywhere for many reasons but mainly because a) I have no previous working experience and b) Im younger than 25. And everyone knows that anyone younger than 25 or older than 40 can't get a job in anything unless they have some form of contacts within the industry.
    You're either too young to be trusted or too old to be fully usable in the company.

Personally I'm applying for everything I can, every day and have done so for quite some time now. It is hell out there.

I can't even get a job lifting boxes from one space to another.
    My next stop is... Mcdonalds. DUN DUN DUUUUN.

If you want to work within art, be ready to get laughed at by everyone outside the art community.(Unless you have friends who can get you a job)

Point of this misc thread. I'm REALLY tired of being broke and people laughing in my face when I apply for jobs.
    Any tips on getting a job would be great, but don't say "Ask someone you know" I HAVE. And they are pissed at me for asking so much.
    "Sadly, most artists prefer to give the elite their attention."

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,274 Times in 408 Posts
    The question you gotta ask yourself is "can my stuff compete with industry standards?" If yes, then its a matter of persistance. If no, you have to grind that pencil. Studying art forever might be well and good, but in the end how long you studied doesn't mean jack shit, its what you can produce that counts.