Thanks

A thread about self-taught vs. school/degree

Hi, I'm a self taught pro level digital painter/illustrator for about 6 years now, but for my own reasons I've just done it for myself and I haven't wanted to make it my career, but I'm planning on changing that now. I've fallen on some hard times due to medical problems which have prevented me from continuing my previous form of work, and my computer/tablet are dead thanks to letting a family member use them(let that be a warning to be careful who you let touch your work computer) and now years of work/everything I could use for a portfolio are now gone.

Ok I'm not asking for money from you, but from a family member that has said before that she'd help me financially should I need it, and she will, but here's the problem some others here have faced I'm sure: She believes that It's impossible to get a job, freelance or full-time without a degree. I need your help to make the argument that it's the work that matters. I know the logic is sound, I've been lurking here and other industry sites since I started painting after changing from persuing computer animation.

Any help would be great, but I'd like to ask than unless they have links to articles/ect from pros about this subject, that anyone not working in the field not post their oppinions on the subject, cause parroting things that others have said wont help.

p.s. I know a degree would be nice, but is not necessary and going to school for basic illustration would be redundant and a waste of time and resourses for me right now.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    It's really hard to say in your specific situation whether continuing on your own would be best, or if going to the right school for you will actually be worth it, without seeing any of your work.

I say post your work, you've got to have it somewhere, and if not, make up some more and show everyone.