Digital painting techniques (blending colors) - Which one to use??

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Digital painting techniques (blending colors) - Which one to use??

Well I am just learning some digital painting in Photoshop... and I found several digital painting styles, most popular being smudge style where you use smudge tool in Photoshop to create smooth transitions between color, and other style where you don't use smudge tool but making those transitions only with brush tool with different variations on brush color and opacity...

So which of those two styles can you recommend me as a better one and why? Which one do you use? I tried both but still not sure which one should I stick to, and what is the difference in results...

So I just need some tips on coloring those transitions after putting some rough colors... Any tips much appreciated...

Thanks )

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I use my option key and pick up the variations between the colors, and have my brush presets set with other dynamics. Hardness depends on what I'm doing, though. I also haven't been using photoshop for art until recently. I was drawing for a long time, and used photoshop for my photography; I'm still learning. I'm glad I had PS when I decided to start working toward digital arts, it would be one more thing I would have to buy and I was able to use a lot of the skills I had before.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    From what I've seen, most people newer to digital painting tend to overuse the smudge tool.

I suppose the temptation is there because a lot of natural media doesn't blend as readily, so the ide of blending all pixels without worrying about any "dryness" of paint seems like a dream come true.