Digital painting: Soft edge brush vs hard edge brush
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Digital painting: Soft edge brush vs hard edge brush

Hi, Im new to this forum, it has been an enormous help of my understanding of digital painting, and all these talented people are inspirational. I am uncertain though what type of brush to use. A hard edge brush with low opacity is great for blocking in and getting the concept on screen, but when it comes to the final detailing, do people use a soft edge brush to get those photo realistic qualities? or smudge or just keep going at it with low opacity hard brushes. Some opinions would be great, Cheers

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    you know Im new to this too and Ive been wondering the same thing. Id like a comment on this as well.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    From what I've seen watching countless videos:

Most people use hard edged brushes almost exclusively, blending colors by using very low opacity.

But I've seen people use soft edge brushes to lay some blurry colors in backgrounds, or some final blending on very quick paintings (ones that take them 20 to 40 minutes). But for any of the timelapse videos I've seen where the artist claims 2 hours or more, they are using hard edged brushes.

I personally am trying to learn using hard brushes, and not doing very well, I might switch over to soft edges for a while and see where that leads me.

I'm far from an expert though, so hopefully someone else chimes in for ya

Current Artist Level - Straight up begginer

Thanks
    Thanked 1,568 Times in 754 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    You need to go deeper into understanding of how form and light works rather than look for solution in brushes. When it comes to realistic painting it's more about what are the edges between two values. (or between light and shadow.
    Look here -> Edges tutorial