Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Blend tool slow?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Blend tool slow?

    Do people tend to stay away from the blend tool and just work with the brushes when trying to work fast, and just over-paint instead. I've found that when I actually get the shape dynamics and scattering turned on, and I'm using a texture brush with the blend tool, Photoshop (CS3) stops preforming in real time. Even when I merge down all the layers, it slows down... and I"m working with a pretty damn fast workstation.

    Curious...
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Lawton, OK
    Posts
    640
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Smudge and blend are un-usable at "work's" pace at print resolutions on my Xeon 2.33 workstation with 4 gb ram (doesn't really come into it but it might).

    Liquify actually seems quicker for me !? But I just tend to avoid it entirely, tends to lock up or crash more often than desired (once)
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,130
    Thanks
    451
    Thanked 205 Times in 131 Posts
    I hope Adobe steals some of the blend tools from Painter sometime...
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    well... at least it's not just me

    Thanks for the replies.

    And yeah, it would be great if adobe would, ahem "borrow" the smudge tool, and hopefully the canvas rotate.

    I can dream...
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,130
    Thanks
    451
    Thanked 205 Times in 131 Posts
    Ooo I have something helpful this time:

    Turn the spacing way up under the "brushes" toolbox under "brush tip shape".
    The smudge tool in PS works by making multiple copies of the image to varying degrees of opacity under the brush (which is why it's so slow).
    Spacing would make it make less "copies".

    I can guess that Painter, whose brushes work differently, work on MOVING pixels instead of copying and pasting thousands which is why it's so much faster.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 7th, 2011, 03:19 AM
  2. Noob question, where is the blend tool?
    By Ven S in forum PHOTOSHOP
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 5th, 2011, 12:55 PM
  3. Radial Menu is SLOW...not worth using slow
    By NinjaMark in forum WACOM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 27th, 2010, 10:28 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 13th, 2008, 06:49 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 8th, 2006, 05:53 PM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • 424,149 Artists
  • 3,599,276 Artist Posts
  • 32,941 Sketchbooks
  • 54 New Art Jobs
Art Workshop Discount Inside

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook