Painter is unusably slow?

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Painter is unusably slow?

    Hi all...

    I have a question for you veteran Painter users. I'm using Painter 8. I love the program, but for my purposes so far it seems unusable.

    When I work at a amall size suitable for web graphics, it functions, but I normally work at 300 DPI. At a large, printable size it is SO SO SLOW. I attempt to use a large brush to fill in a big background and it takes about 7 seconds for the brush to catch up with my stroke.

    I have a really fast computer, so this isn't the issue. I have a AMD 2100+ , 1 gig of 333 mhz memory, running on an A7V8X motherboard. I have raid 0 with really fast harddrives. (To put it into persepctive for the Mac users, this setup is roughly as fast as the G5.) I even allowocated nearly all the memory to painter and it had no effect.

    I read on the painters site that the program is not optimized for speed, and it didn't sound like they were going to in the future, form the way it was worded. Does anyone have any information about this? I love the program but I just can't use it at this slow speed. I'm a speed demon, and soon upgrading my system to be even faster.

    -onezumi-

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I stick with brushes size 27px. I upgraded from a p3 555Mhz to a p4 2,4Ghz and not much changed.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    How do you fill in backgrounds? I'd think anything less than a 300 pixel diameter would take me all week. Maybe its just not made for making poster-sized images.


    -onezumi-

    The Art. The Comic. The Insanity.
    http://www.onezumi.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Originally posted by AkaNezumi
    How do you fill in backgrounds? I'd think anything less than a 300 pixel diameter would take me all week. Maybe its just not made for making poster-sized images.
    I'd like to know your tools you use for painting.
    I've P III 450 and don't have such massive problems you described.

    Andrew

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Originally posted by agflash


    I'd like to know your tools you use for painting.
    I've P III 450 and don't have such massive problems you described.

    Andrew
    You mean my brush? I tried to use a 300px soft brush in simple watercolor mode.

    -onezumi-

    The Art. The Comic. The Insanity.
    http://www.onezumi.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,089
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 197 Times in 170 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Some artists do the following:

    Block in large areas of color at smaller dimensions and Resolution (ppi).

    Resize upward and paint large detail.

    Resize upward again to the final dimensions and Resolution (ppi) to paint small details and clean things up.

    You'd need to do some testing first to calculate your smaller brush sizes so when you resize upward for the final, you get the result you want.

    Other things:

    Close other programs while running Painter.

    To help prevent corrupted RIFF files, save Uncompressed. The default is compressed so you'll need to check the Uncompressed box when saving.

    Save frequently and save your files in a numbered series so if anything goes wrong, you won't lose everything and can go back to the previous save.

    Stop every hour or so, use File > Save As and save the file in RIFF format. Close Painter and go to the following folder and delete the Pre-built Brush File:

    Corel > Corel Painter 8 > Brushes

    The Pre-built Brush File can grow large very quickly, depending on which brush variants are used and when it's large, it can slow down Painter's performance.

    Keep the default Painter 8 Painter Brushes brush library in its original state and create your own custom brush libraries to hold custom brush variants. When a brush library gets too large, it can slow down Painter's performance.

    Do the same with art materials libraries as they, too, can slow things down if they become too large.


    If you have any special scripts you want to keep, use the Script Mover to create a custom scripts library and move your scripts into your custom scripts library.

    In Edit > Preferences General, reduce the number of days Painter Auto Saves scripts if it's currently at the maximum of 10 days. That takes up memory.


    Every few days, or more often, when Painter's closed, go to the following folder and delete the Painter.ssd file (Windows) or Painter Script Data file (Mac). The next time Painter is launched, it will generate a new, empty scripts library and begin recording whatever you do in that session.

    In Edit > Preferences > Undo, reduce the number of Undo's if it's set to the maximum of 32. That also takes up memory.

    Do regular system maintenance, clear out browser cache and temp files, etc.


    Just a few things you can try to see if it helps.

    Good luck,

    Please do not PM me with Painter questions. Instead, post them here where everyone can benefit from them. Thanks!

    Jinny Brown
    Visit PixelAlley.com
    and The PainterFactory
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Maybe that was different in Painter 7 ... but is there a "Feature Setting" for the brushes?
    Or maybe you'll find anything else there!?

    http://www.3dtotal.com/team/tutorial...inter_tips.asp

    AndyT = Signature
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    OMG. You guys are angels!

    I'm going to try this out as soon as I get back from work tonight!!!!

    -onezumi-

    The Art. The Comic. The Insanity.
    http://www.onezumi.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Originally posted by AkaNezumi


    You mean my brush? I tried to use a 300px soft brush in simple watercolor mode.
    "Water color" or "digital water color" ?
    But anyway i do not use such huge size for my brushes, i do it like Jin suggested.

    Btw. what Jin said is very important, i do it also from time to time.

    I'd like to suggest you to "play" with those controls:
    Start Brush Creator:
    Ctrl+B
    and try to change values you find in Spacing-Section, wich controls how often painter "drop" the brushstroke.

    Andrew

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • 424,149 Artists
  • 3,599,276 Artist Posts
  • 32,941 Sketchbooks
  • 54 New Art Jobs
Art Workshop Discount Inside
Register

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
The Art Department
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook