Building skills for graphic novels

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Building skills for graphic novels

Hi,

My background is in architecture and I am interested in writing a graphic novel. I need to develop my illustration skills and was wondering what coursework or studies would best prepare me. I would also like to know what kind of media most artists use to illustrate graphic novels -- is there a predominant type?

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,582 Times in 1,786 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Before we go any further, let me ask you what sounds like an obnoxious question but really isn't...

Can you write?

This includes...

Can you visualize from the written word?
    Can you entertain, scare the shit out of someone or make them laugh...with just words on paper?

This is as important as the art end, which is no picnic. You also have to be able to determine (on the run) what is best shown visually and what is best text?

Let us know where you stand as honestly as you can, and we'll give as much help as we can...

No position or belief, whether religious, political or social, is valid if one has to lie to support it.--Alj Mary

Ironically, the concept of SIMPLICITY is most often misunderstood by simple-minded people. --Alj Mary

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I guarantee you'll get more of the help you need if you open up a sketchbook thread and post some of your work for us.

Anatomy is very important, because the characters are more than often the main focus in a scene (as well as animals and creatures), especially when it's a dramatic angle or pose in movement.

As for media, it's mostly up to preference. Digital is popular because it can be very fast and painless when making many panels and getting printed, but it's also good to work off your strengths.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following