Thanks

Talking The European Late 19th Century....

11th July 2008

RE: Impressionism, Expressionism and The "Founders"

Dear Forum,

Is THIS an Acceptable "Topic" of Discussion...

Do We ALL owe something to European Artists from 1850-1900?!

Regards

SBGB

Laters...

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Well, that's a better question I think.

Don't have much time and I'm a layman at this, so I'll keep it brief.

Been reading a book about the painting techniques of artists since the inception of oil paints through much of the modern era. On the section of Impressionism (1860+) it basically lists two main reasons why painting took the direction it did.

The primary reason was the quality of artist materials. At the time artists were no longer in charge of making their own paints and instead bought from color merchants, who at the time typically made poor quality paints with lots of filler. These paints made it next to impossible to paint in the manner of the old masters.

And the secondary reason was the reaction of artists to both the French academic system and to the quality of materials available to them.

To ask simply if we just owe something to these artists is a little vague and answerable with an equally vague "yes". But... how about we consider to what degree was the Impressionistic movement a result of artistic creativity and rebellion as opposed to practical restrictions based on the materials available?

I think we could get a lively discussion about that which would to a degree answer what it is we owe to these artists from 1850-1900.
    -My work can be found at my local directory thread.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,498 Times in 747 Posts
    It is indeed a very interesting era, and underexplored. Not the Impressionists -- they've been done to death -- but the Academicians they elbowed out of the picture.

I'd say most of us who call ourselves illustrators owe more to the latter than the former.