Art: interested in a 3D modeling program to layout Geiger/ Nakmura style paintings
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: interested in a 3D modeling program to layout Geiger/ Nakmura style paintings

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

interested in a 3D modeling program to layout Geiger/ Nakmura style paintings

I am thinking I originally posted this in the wrong section...so I am adding it up here...mods please feel free to delete the post in the 3D and modeling section.

sorry about that.

I am an illustrator and have been working professionally for several years. I am interested in doing some fine art paintings that are either really complex pen and ink illustrations or large oils...and I want to try something new.

I am thinking some of the images I want to create might be more effectively set up in a 3D modeling program just to more quickly be able to try different things and deal with some of the complexity in perspective with repeating and receding/ or projecting tech, wires, gears etc. I just want to be able to work through all the experimental periods with the ability to go back a step or two(or many) if need be quickly.....and then I would do the final piece in some traditional medium.

I just saw Kazuhiko Nakamura's work again and I just can't help but think....man done traditionally in pen and ink, or oils...how amazing would that be? I LOVE digital art...but I really have this desire to try and do the same thing with computer on the front end and traditional mediums on the back end.

I am not looking to regurgitate these guys work and I know that a lot of this style has been explored to death...I am not a wanna be. I respect the genre and I want to do something that's my own.