Finding a Model / guide to poses.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Finding a Model / guide to poses.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Finding a Model / guide to poses.

Hey all!

I'm currently setting up a program with our local library which who provide still life / live models as a recurring event for interested artists.

I'm wondering, since this is my first time setting something like this up:

How much should I pay our models per hour (non nude)?
    Does anyone know of a guide to comfortable poses?

Thank you!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Nude models we pay 20-25 AUD per hour. I don't know how much to pay clothed models as all the clothed models we get do it for free (they are friends or artist's themselves).

20 mins is a good amount of time to hold a pose without a break - lying down poses can be stretched to 30, but you really need to give your model regular breaks. For sitting poses I've heard that it's better to be sitting straight with your back not resting against anything, otherwise the pressure starts to hurt. Straight legs or slightly bent for sitting poses as well, as having a leg tucked underneath a body (such as cross-legged) can get uncomfortable quickly. Just ask the model, some are crazy gymnasts and others find lying down too strenuous for more than five minutes.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Nude models get paid about $40 USD where I am. A really good model gets paid a lot more.

My work: [link]

Thanks
    Thanked 1,484 Times in 719 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    The last time I saw an ad for nude models I think it was £15 an hour, no idea for clothed though.

We used to get the same models for clothed and nude sessions but I've no idea whether they got their usual rate for clothed or not..

Thanks
    Follows