Mermaid

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Mermaid

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Mermaid

I'm not sure what this would be considered, if it would be a fast sketch/color, or what. I'm sorry, but I've never done a realistic looking person before, since I am usually a manga/anime style. I used a tablet, and SAI painter for this piece.

I have never had formal training, but learned on my own. I was wondering if you guys thought that I had any future in the professional art world?

Name:  mermaid.jpg
Views: 246
Size:  223.3 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm not yet a professional myself so I can't answer your question. I can comment on your work.

It is still very much manga style rather than a realistic person, the proportions of the facial details are exaggerated and many details are missing, it is also too flat. But as a cartoony character it is quite good.

One more thing is that the neck is not effected by the rotation and tilt of the head which makes it look weird.

Rock on!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Your question can't be answered having seen only a rough sketch from you (though rough sketches can tell a thing or two about the knowledge of the person who created them). I think everyone can have future in the professional art world but it doesn't depend on talent (or I go further - it has NOTHING to do with talent), but on hard work and practice.
    I think there's no problem with manga style. Draw what you like to draw! Drawing should be about fun .