Thanks

New here, impressed so far!

I just joined today, and I'm pretty impressed with what I've seen here so far. What makes me especially happy is that there are sculptors here, whereas most art sites I've gone to consist almost totally of drawers, with some photography here and there.

Anyway, I've been sculpting on and off for the past nine years or so, but have never once taken a class on it, or even taken advice from other sculptors. So far, I'm 100% self-taught. I plan to change this when I enter college next fall, though. I've wanted to make it a profession someday, but there are some other things I'm also torn between.

Alright, so here is a picture of what I generally consider to be the best thing I've made. I haven't ever really had an opportunity to show this to other sculptors, so I'm not exactly sure how competent with sculpting I really am.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Welcome Archaedin,
    An interesting character you have made. I especially like the hands - are they done with armature underneath?
    The lower body is a bit hard to see - but overall you get a nice dark threatening feeling - which I guess is what you were aiming for.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Aseyngel View Post
    Welcome Archaedin,
    An interesting character you have made. I especially like the hands - are they done with armature underneath?
    The lower body is a bit hard to see - but overall you get a nice dark threatening feeling - which I guess is what you were aiming for.
    Thanks. Yea, the previous time I had made this character, my friend said it wasn't "Dark" enough for what I was aiming for, so I switched up the color scheme quite a bit.

I just made a sort of cloud down there, there aren't any real legs or feet built in. I use wires now and then to help keep things in place, but only if I really have to. There are no wires in the arms or hands, just a few to keep it propped up and some to attach the head to the body.