"Space Pirate" Ship Design

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I'm brand new (as a poster) to the forums, but have been following all of the awesome work of the Massive Black guys for awhile. I just watched Kemp's and Coro's tutorials on vehicle and weapons concepting, and thought I'd try my hand at my own vehicle (using the production techniques laid out in these tutorials).

So far, I've developed thumbs, a basic Sketchup model, and rough paints for a ship that pirates of the future may use. After some research and decisions about the narrative I was developing in the design, these were the criteria/parameters I came up with for the ship (I studied real world naval and air designs, NASA specs for future vehicles, ocean creatures, some role-playing ideas for the Traveller game and online communities focusing on space combat, to name a few sources); the following are some of my initial notes for the design:

Privateer Sloop—original design function? Pirate hunter?

Shape—stealth molded, “shallow draft and fast lines”
    Capable of stealth in space and air, aircraft capable wings, molded air and hull

Cargo holds and drone deploys (up to four?)—crew quarters, carries up to 75 men and 14 guns, although retrofitted, living quarters can be cannibalized for cargo space and gun space

Large vessels are typically more capable in warfare, but smaller size is advantageous to pirates, mercenaries, and privateers because:

Maneuverability in airspace (outrunning warships in atmosphere)
    Able to be dry-docked, water-docked, careened (beached anywhere and maintained, whereas warships need special docking quarters and infrastructure)—sloops work outside of the infrastructure
    Less vulnerable (possibly) to information system corruption
    Smaller crew and smaller management, upkeep
    Smaller costs for maintenance and fuel, and available to private teams