Plein Air Sketching

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

Plein Air Sketching

Hello!

I'm looking to get into some plein air sketching this summer, but I have two problems.

First, I don't know what kind of palette to use. I'm thinking something along the lines of Payne's Gray, Burnt Umber, Burnt Sienna, Yellow Ochre, Cadmium Red, Cadmium Yellow, Sap Green, and White. I'm new to this...is there a "classic" palette for plein air sketching? Does anyone have a different palette to recommend?

Second, I do not own a plein air sketching easel, nor do I have the funds to purchase one at this time (I am hoping to purchase one in the future). Is there an easy way to set something up that is reasonably portable and affordable?

Thank you!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Well I'm pretty new to plein air too, but if you look at impressionist painting you pretty much have the palette down. There are blues, greens, even purples that aren't on your list- yours sounds a lot like a classical palette- which would kind of dull things out for plein air unless that's what ur going for.

I have a wooden box that holds my paints and I prop the canvas or canvas board on it... haha.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Gasphemer For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thank you! I guess I'll try that!

Thanks
    I use burnt sienna, cobalt blue (nice sky colour), sap green and then maybe some cad red and yellow light with tit white. Completely depends what you're painting I guess. I don't really like the impressionist palette personally (I think they get a bit overly colour happy sometimes and ignore tonal work). I've only just started myself but I would think that having too many more colours would get cumbersome, when plien air sketching is meant to be pretty quick and loose.