Wicked Pissed : Intous 3 Question

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Wicked Pissed : Intous 3 Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,652
    Thanks
    2,127
    Thanked 2,320 Times in 906 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Wicked Pissed : Intous 3 Question

    my tablet just altogether stops working randomly. I've had to restart my computer 3 times today in the middle of a piece. I have the latest driver from wacom and i got vista shit ass edition. Anybody else with similar problem? or better yet, any solution to it?

    Last edited by Mr.Delicious; May 19th, 2008 at 01:10 PM.
    'If you don't make mistakes, you're not working on hard enough problems.And that's a big mistake.'
    www.DaveRapoza.com - Step by Steps, Videos, PSD Downloads, and tons of other crap
    SketchBook
    My Twitter Account
    Schoolism Alien Video Tutorial!
    -HAHAHA B.B.F.F. Forever...-
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4,049
    Thanks
    644
    Thanked 1,274 Times in 408 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    My previous tablet did that, the usb cable was broken right after the connector.

    That was a shitty volito tho.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    972
    Thanks
    132
    Thanked 183 Times in 95 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I had that problem before long ago, i think it was the drivers, try un-installing them and installing them again. Did you had another tablet before?, maybe the problem is conflicting drivers. Maybe, the problem is photoshop? does it hang up with other software as painter?.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,652
    Thanks
    2,127
    Thanked 2,320 Times in 906 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    gosh, I've uninstalled an reinstalled the driver like... 5 times? since i've got my new computer anyways

    wish i had something that wasnt vista, I swear nothing works right with it

    'If you don't make mistakes, you're not working on hard enough problems.And that's a big mistake.'
    www.DaveRapoza.com - Step by Steps, Videos, PSD Downloads, and tons of other crap
    SketchBook
    My Twitter Account
    Schoolism Alien Video Tutorial!
    -HAHAHA B.B.F.F. Forever...-
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    609
    Thanks
    173
    Thanked 202 Times in 81 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Dual Boot it up with some Linux?

    I hear you can run PS pretty well on a linux machine.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    291
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 52 Times in 22 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    You might be thinking of Gimp[shop].

    Proprietary software like photoshop will never work in Linux.

    My opinion is to buy XP, format and wipe your hands clean of Vista.

    I mean come on, Windows 7 is due out in late '09-'10. If that's not a statement on how awful Vista is I don't know what is.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,652
    Thanks
    2,127
    Thanked 2,320 Times in 906 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    seriously, my boss bought me windows xp, I just didnt wanna spend all day transferring my files to the external. , too much work to do today. eh, I guess I'll look into doing it tonight



    'If you don't make mistakes, you're not working on hard enough problems.And that's a big mistake.'
    www.DaveRapoza.com - Step by Steps, Videos, PSD Downloads, and tons of other crap
    SketchBook
    My Twitter Account
    Schoolism Alien Video Tutorial!
    -HAHAHA B.B.F.F. Forever...-
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    843
    Thanks
    442
    Thanked 355 Times in 187 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I'm sure Wacom are aware of this issue by now, why not try to find an appropriate driver on their site? thats wt i did to avoid problems when i updated my OS Tiger to an OS Leopard.

    if you can't find an updated driver/patch, contact them about the issue maybe? good luck!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    798
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 67 Times in 49 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gory View Post
    You might be thinking of Gimp[shop].

    Proprietary software like photoshop will never work in Linux.

    My opinion is to buy XP, format and wipe your hands clean of Vista.

    I mean come on, Windows 7 is due out in late '09-'10. If that's not a statement on how awful Vista is I don't know what is.
    You can run photoshop and other windows apps with the applicatione Wine.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,652
    Thanks
    2,127
    Thanked 2,320 Times in 906 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    yea the last time they updated their drivers was last september which was around the time it messed up, so i uninstalled that, and put an old one in... that didnt work. so I installed the only driver they had(thats what they told me to do on the phone ). I'll try contacting them again... Although i should just install my XP, transferring my like... 70 gb of psd files

    'If you don't make mistakes, you're not working on hard enough problems.And that's a big mistake.'
    www.DaveRapoza.com - Step by Steps, Videos, PSD Downloads, and tons of other crap
    SketchBook
    My Twitter Account
    Schoolism Alien Video Tutorial!
    -HAHAHA B.B.F.F. Forever...-
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    609
    Thanks
    173
    Thanked 202 Times in 81 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    We, Senor Delicious, take a siesta and start transferring. It'll be worth it in the end, eh?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    972
    Thanks
    132
    Thanked 183 Times in 95 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Did you try un-installing and re-installing photoshop?.

    Try looking for solutions at adobe site also or other places of internets, i got this problems before and i fixed it without much trouble, i dont remember exactly how though.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    291
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 52 Times in 22 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Delicious View Post
    Although i should just install my XP, transferring my like... 70 gb of psd files
    I think that's the strongest reason for buying external hard drives. I never save any work on my local hard drive. I save my local hard drive for things like video games and applications.

    Although, a good way to look at this is it's a good opportunity to organize your PSDs. Convert a bunch into high res JPEGs, ditch others, and stuff like that.

    It sucks though, I know.

    Another way to look at it is you're freeing up probably around 750 megs of RAM by 'downgrading' to XP. I dunno how much RAM your install of vista takes up, but mine consumes a whole gig with nothing running.

    FactorZero- Neat! I didn't know that. Is Wine a windows emulator for Linux or something?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,164
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 17 Times in 6 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Kamikazebob View Post
    I hear you can run PS pretty well on a linux machine.
    Depends on the version of Photoshop. The latest WINE and Photoshop CS2 has a Platinum rating (no noticable problems).
    The CS3 installer doesn't work, although some have mentioned that less legal versions without the installer work fine, it's something they might resolve soon though.

    In any case that's more hassle than it's worth, installing another OS to run a Windows application is just shooting yourself in the foot.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gory View Post
    FactorZero- Neat! I didn't know that. Is Wine a windows emulator for Linux or something?
    It's a compatibility layer so it's not emulating anything, just pretending to be Windows by translating and implementing things that the software needs to run.
    You can do a bit of reading here, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wine_(software)

    Codeweavers has a commercial version that's more user friendly available for Mac as well, I've been using their Crossover Games product to play the Valve/Steam games under Linux. Their customer support is excellent and they had a major role in getting Photoshop supported. Whether or not their product is worth using for the latest versions of Adobe's products will have to be seen when they release Crossover 7.
    The highlights of CrossOver 7 include support for Office 2007, as well as support for Photoshop CS/CS2 (and hopefully CS3) along with all versions of Dreamweaver, and a few other Adobe applications.
    Also I thought I should mention that not all commercial software is for Windows only, I have plenty of stuff I have had to buy for Linux. (Although I pride myself on how much I didn't have to buy too.)

    Yes I still use GIMP... No that's not funny.

    Last edited by SCIBOTIC; May 19th, 2008 at 09:34 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,652
    Thanks
    2,127
    Thanked 2,320 Times in 906 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    mmm, thats really my only problem... taking the time off, haha. I'd need to set aside a day to do it and right now i really just am dyin with my current schedule . I'll do it soon i hope.

    'If you don't make mistakes, you're not working on hard enough problems.And that's a big mistake.'
    www.DaveRapoza.com - Step by Steps, Videos, PSD Downloads, and tons of other crap
    SketchBook
    My Twitter Account
    Schoolism Alien Video Tutorial!
    -HAHAHA B.B.F.F. Forever...-
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  17. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,531
    Thanks
    356
    Thanked 656 Times in 222 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mine seems to do this at home too, probably related to vista. The problem seems to happen when I am painting and somehow touch the strips on the side at the same time. So annoying. At work it's XP, doesn't seem to have the same trouble.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  18. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    398
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 14 Times in 7 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    That keeps happening to me, and has happened for as long as I've owned Vista (about a year now).

    Wacom denies it's a problem on their end, and have been doing so for about as long.

    You don't have to reboot your computer if it happens again. Here are the steps I take, which is about as brief a method as I can make it:

    1. Save your work and close Photoshop. For whatever reason, restarting the tablet's drivers makes Photoshop not able to tell you have pressure sensitivity, which is annoying.

    2. Ctrl-Shft-Esc to bring up the Task Manager.

    3. Press "Show processes from all users" and hit "Continue" on the little prompt that comes up.

    4. Scroll down and end the three tablet processes. The names are different depending on the driver you have. For the older driver, it's two instances of "Tablet.exe" and one of "TabletUser.exe" or something similar to that, and for the latest driver it's two instances of "Wacom_Tablet.exe" and one of "Wacome_TabletUser.exe". Just kill all of those.

    5. Click on the Services tab and scroll down to TabletService (or TabletServiceWacom if you have the latest driver). Right-click and hit "Start."

    This'll restart your driver and give you pressure sensitivity back. Just start up Photoshop again and you should be good to go. Depending on the speed of your machine this could take anywhere from thirty seconds to five minutes, but regardless it's still a pain in the ass and a distraction that breaks the natural flow of working.

    The only thing that I think has helped has been to open up the Wacom properties, click on the Functions area, then click on Photoshop. Then select the Touchstrip tab and hit Advanced. I deselected the "Enable special function areas" and so far it hasn't crashed on me, but we'll see. It is definitely an issue with the touchstrip, which is particularly frustrating because I have mine bound to brush size which is absolutely crucial.

    If I come up with a better solution I'll let you know.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •