Any Watts Atelier students?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hi, just wondering how many members on this board have been, or already are studying at the Watts atelier in Encinitas?

I've been a part-time student at a small atelier in Indiana for the past four years and have been visiting different ateliers this summer to try and compare them all to see where I will be moving next.

I've visited the Nelson Shanks studio in Philadelphia, have had a chance to drop into one of Jeff Watts classes in Encinitas and will be heading to Minneapolis this week to check out the Lack Atelier's student show.

What do you guys think about the differences between these schools? I really like the focus on illustration and anatomy at Watts and wondered what students from there took away from the program.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 16,679 Times in 5,021 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    There have been a ton of Watts folks posting here over the years, both students and teachers. Do a search and you'll find a wealth of information.

Tristan Elwell
    **Finished Work Thread **Process Thread **Edges Tutorial

Crash Course for Artists, Illustrators, and Cartoonists, NYC, the 2013 Edition!

"Work is more fun than fun."
    -John Cale

"Art is supposed to punch you in the brain, and it's supposed to stay punched."
    -Marc Maron

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks, I will.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following