Art: Problems with Maya. Or just me.

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Problems with Maya. Or just me.

I am a total newbie to Maya. I have the animation down pretty well, but this modeling aspect is a pain in the ass for me.

The character I'm modeling is in Polygons (converted from NURBs), and I've begun to merge the vertices together. In some areas, such as the feet and tail as seen in the picture, it will get black and stay that way once rendered. And no matter where I move that newly made point in space, it will still be black.

Any help would be greatly appreciated since my professor has no clue what he's doing.

EDIT: Also, when I view those areas from different angles, they look smooth and out of place (same with the seam running down the legs, so maybe it's a setting I have?)

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Meg; May 11th, 2008 at 01:45 AM. Reason: Additional info
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Sorry I cant help i use 3ds

Mod edit: Then why the hell are you posting?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    It could be illegal polygons. Polygons aren't supposed to have more than 4 sides and they're not allowed to be folded. The second part is kind of difficult to explain but I'll try:
    You can't fold a polygon like a piece of paper. Maya won't know what to do with it and it results in weird shading errors. A polygon has to be totally flat.

So I'd split polygons up that are more than four sided and make sure that your polys don't have any weird folds or anything in them. If they do then split them.

Another problem could be the normals. Normals are basically how maya shades something by default and it can look super weird if they aren't correct.