Started an Anatomy/Life Drawing course today...
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Started an Anatomy/Life Drawing course today...

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Started an Anatomy/Life Drawing course today...

i started an Anatomy/Life drawing course today at the art academy in downtown Vancouver BC

Well, I've never used a soft medium before, and of all things, I chose conte. I've never drawn while standing before. I've never drawn with my paper upright in front of me. And I've never drawn under a time limit, let alone 7 minute maximum poses.

man did I suck.

This weekend I'm going to go get some charcoal. something that smudges, and can be erased. I think maybe I'll start putting a time limit of say 30 minutes on my sketches that I do at home.

Everything I've learned about drawing (not much i admit) felt like it was useless. It really felt like I was starting over from scratch.

Some of the other artists in the course did some beautiful sketches. I suppose I'll keep the crappy sketches I did for comparison to my later stuff, but man i hate them. :bash:

Oh well, I hope I'll improve over the next couple months.

But.. It was still fun.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Taking Life-drawing classes is great. I'm sure you will improve a lot during these months. And to lessen the time you spend on sketches could be good. If it takes over 20-25 minutes to finish I wouldn't really consider it a sketch anymore.

keep at it and you're surely gonna improve alot

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi there,