Art: Help with Loomis head construction

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Help with Loomis head construction

I just began studying Loomis' Drawing Heads and Hands, but I'm having some trouble with constructing the head. More specifically, establishing the side plain. How do you determine how much to "slice off" on each side , and also how do you divide that space properly. From a 3/4 view my jawbone always looks way too long. I bet I'm making it more complicated than it really is, but I'm a beginner so this is all new to me.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    We really need pictures to help you out!

1000 words etc.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I don't have a scanner, but I'll see if I can take some decent digital photos to post.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Name:  000_0454.jpg
Views: 793
Size:  135.8 KB

Name:  000_0453.jpg
Views: 817
Size:  142.6 KB

Name:  000_0451.jpg
Views: 799
Size:  167.7 KB

Hopefully these pictures will be good enough to show my problem. Any help would be appreciated. Maybe I should start a sketchbook thread? Also,what's the best way to resize my photos using iphoto?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The only way I know of to measure off the proportions of the head is to start with a cube. The face should be 2/3 of a square wide. Then you've got to divide that rectangle into 5ths(5 eyes wide), then find it's center, which is all a pain in the rear.
    It's also a good idea to buy yourself some circle templates, these things http://www.dickblick.com/zz554/76b/, and use those to start your heads, alternate back and forth between those and freehand.