Koma's Grasp (more-finished version, third post!)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Currently working on coloring this, and feeling lost as to how I'm doing. She's supposed to be underwater, sinking. The light source is meant to be directly above her head.

Also, general help is appreciated. She's been cropped to the areas I need the most help with. Original full-image sketch is included below, if it helps at all.

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by Inoni; April 27th, 2008 at 08:52 PM. Reason: Fixing images, thumbnails, blarg, I'm a newb....
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Cool idea, Your lines are good. Nice gesture!

First thing, you're losing the edges of things. This is fine for stuff like the hair but for her arms, legs and clothing the edges need to be sharper. Just go back in and reestablish your edges so they aren't so blurry.

Second thing, your values aren't vast enough so your forms aren't turning properly. Get her shadows darker so she doesn't look so washed out and don't use alot of highlights. She is underwater so she will be mostly dark. Maybe make the background a gradient getting darker towards the bottom to give you a better idea of how your values are going to change down the figure (for example, the white of her socks will be darker in value than her shirt. Even though they are the same color the socks are getting less light because of the position of the light source.)

Last thing, she is underwater right? so every color you pick has to have a little blue mixed in it (although it might be easier since this is digital to use layers to do that.)

Hope that helps...
    Post the full image in your update, it'll be easier to critique if we can see the whole thing. Rock on!

...my humble and uneducated opinion.