'testing' for a position?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: 'testing' for a position?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

'testing' for a position?

At the moment I am looking at a very odd email. I feel as if it is one of those "You won a million dollars!" letters you get in the mail... Apparently a scout discovered my work and is offering me a full-time/freelance position with his marketing company (as an illustrator). The email is very professional, his website looks even more so...but he mentions how I would be required to test for this position by doing sample work.

I've never had to do a small project to get a job before, so I'm curious how typical this is. Is it normal to have to do a small sample job just to qualify for a position? This is my first time seeing such a thing.

My work: [link]
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Well, it does sound a bit unusual, but not necessarily a scam. Unpaid testing for small, freelance gigs is frowned upon... but it's actually pretty standard for fulltime, long-term positions.

If you really like the job, I'd suggest getting something in writing if possible, going ahead with the test, and protecting any IP material you come up with in the process. Worst thing that happens is you waste a couple hours of your time... not the end of the world and, well... you win some, you lose some. On the other hand, it may turn out to be well worth it and land you a steady, long-term job.

Or, perhaps you can even respond with something like: "I'm sure you'll understand, but I'm afraid I can't do unpaid tests. If you'd like to negotiate a fair rate for a paid test, I'd very much look forward to working with you"

Good luck either way and let us know how it turns out

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    If they solicted you, then why would they need a test?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    @Mirana. Thats what I was thinking originally.