From real life to cartoon, how to?

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

From real life to cartoon, how to?

Firstly, what an fantastic website, I've been lurking and admiring all of the fantastic artwork on this site for years. I'm not a 2d artist and have no skills in 2d what so ever. But I am a 3d artist and a lover of all types of animation. I have been working on a idea for a fun short animation. It will be CG (cartoony) about a boy and I would like to have a stab a creating the concept of this character myself and with all of your help

I have found a picture of a kid that I think has good features. How can I take this real kid and turn him into a cartoon version of himself? what steps can I take, what rules are there to follow?

It would be great to see different peoples interpretation of this kid in his cartoony style but I'll understand if no one wants to do this . It will be a fun exercise for me and also give me a great starting point, I will work on my first interpretation and post it ASAP and hopefully get a crit!.

here is the boy I was talking about...

Also what type of angle is best to work with at first, front, side, 3/4's?

Thanks.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    I think you should not complicate your life with cartoon aproach. If you want to be a good cartonist you should be a good artist too.
    For me these are the basic techniques for develop your art skill:

Nude drawing: with chalck, 15 hours for one drawing. With contemporary study of anatomy.
    Quick scetches: Of people, dogs, trees, animals... Use pen and ink.
    Still life painting: With concetration on large shapes of color. Start with tone - Only black and white color, next add blu and orange, next whole spectrum.