Sketchbook: some_guy improves slowly over time

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: some_guy improves slowly over time

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

some_guy improves slowly over time

I drew my first apple in the bumskee thread in the Photoshop forum about a month ago, and I'm suddenly more excited about learning to draw and paint than I've ever been before.

Don't get me wrong. You know, I liked to draw as a kid, and my art teacher in 7th grade told me I had talent - the usual shit - but I've never really taken it further than that. I'm still a total art noob.

But I've decided to change that, so wish me luck.

Below are a few things. On the left is my first still-life apple ever. I didn't even put that one in the apple thread because I was too embarrassed about it. Made January 29th.

Second is my latest apple. Made March 4th. Visible improvement. I love visible improvement.

Last is a drawing I did from reference a few hours ago. Incidently, it's also my first painting of a human in PS. I started to colour it and realised that I'm awful at colouring people - especially hair - so I stopped. But I'll do another one tomorrow and it should be better.

Critique is welcome and encouraged.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I think I've avoided hands for so long that, like, my brain has blocked them out completely. I felt like a 6 year old doing these hand studies. I had to stop 15 minutes in so I could study what a finger actually looks like.

After that I had to relax, so I went back to faces. Did another one from reference, trying to pay attention to values this time.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    i love that girls facial expression!
    nice stuff so far.