NEED HELP!! any advice is very appreciated!!

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy NEED HELP!! any advice is very appreciated!!

I posted this message in the Art Discussion section of CA but no one has answered, I'm wondering whether anyone here can help me out. Thank you.

Hello,
    My name is Dayanna and I am a first year student at Savannah College of Art and Design. I'm Majoring in Animation and Minoring at the moment in Sequential Art, (possibly changing in the next few months). Ok, here is my problem. Even though I am a first year student I am considered a sophomore because of all the credits I brought in from my High School, long story short, I'll be done in 3 years.
    The problem is that now I am thinking of whether or not to major in Animation at all. I love animation and I know I want to get involved in it but I also love concept art with as much passion as animation. I've been asking around my professors and unfortunately they seem to be very biased when it comes to which major would be more fitting for what I want to do. I want to be able to be an Art Director some day and I need to know what path to take to lead me to that direction. I was thinking of possibly majoring in Illustration instead of Animation, but still minor in animation to sort of have a background in it. However, I'm really scared.
    I was also thinking that now they are possibly incorporating concept art as an actual minor here in school and ill be changing from sequential to concept art and I could just as easily major in animation and minor in concept and develop a strong portfolio in both areas so as to when I apply for jobs I'll be well rounded and maybe be considered for both concept development and animation.