Painter 6 :: Possible Machine Problem
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Painter 6 :: Possible Machine Problem

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Painter 6 :: Possible Machine Problem

I am fairly new to digital painting so bear with me please.

I am running Painter 6 with a Wacom Intuos pad on a PIII 500Mhz box with 392MBs RAM.

I completed one painting using the Smeary Round paint brush all on one layer and had minimal problems. But now I am in the midst of working on another piece and unless I put full force to the pen I get this aqua/purple/blue pixely crap on the canvas where the brush tip is placed before the actual color starts to flow out.

Does that make since? I have my canvas set to Wet Paint and the particular color I am using is a peachy flesh color.

Has anyone ever experienced this? Is this a weak machine problme, bad tablet, what?

On another note, and I can gues this is because of my current computer configuration, i can make a stroke on a 800dpi painting and get a delayed reaction on the canvas. I figure that is just because of lack of sufficient RAM and CPU speed but I am not sure. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I have almost the same configuration (PIII 500 MHz, 512 MB RAM and Painter 6) and sometimes encounter the same problems. They are almost never reproducable. I even managed to work on an A3 size, 600 dpi, 25+ layers pic rather safely (safe often!), and bang! suddenly the effect you describe occurs. I guess it's a buggy code.

Jester

Imagination is intelligence having fun!

Jester's Sketchbook

Portfolio web site

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi,

When you get that ugly beginning on your brushstroke, try making one brushstroke, then using Undo. Then following brushstrokes may be normal. This has worked for me and I hope it will work for you as well.

Other important things you should know: