Looking to change careers: where to start?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Looking to change careers: where to start?

Hi folks,

I'm a 29 year old computer programmer, and modesty aside I think I have a moderate amount of talent for art, I just lack a lot of skill.

Lately I've been pretty disenchanted with my chosen field of work, and am thinking about changing careers to something that makes me feel more fulfilled/rewarded. Of my other 2 interests (music and art), I think art is probably the more likely venture for me.

I have no college experience worth speaking of.

I currently work full time, and have enough bills that continuing to work full time is a must (at least for the next year until my car/bills are paid off).

Sooo, given all that, and given that I realize that this will be a long term goal (ie, probably taking at least 2-4 years of time before I might even think about trying to get some freelancing work), where might one start? Given my limited amount of time (probably night classes at the local Community College along with working on my own), does anyone have any advice on how I should best approach ramping up my skills to the level needed to produce professional art?

I took a drawing class at my local CC once that helped me out tremendously, but then I spent a long time not drawing and am only recently back on the art kick. It's also really hard to get life drawing classes at night (I've never taken one before).

You can see some of my old sketches (from early to mid 90's mostly) here.

Some of my latest experiments/drawings can be found at DeviantArt here.

If you have any advice on other places I could ask this question, advice on how I should go about attempting this change, or any other advice, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks for your time.

"Every generation sees the past though the lens of its own time." - Thom Hartmann
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member