Art: Best material for long work time, large size, master for epoxy resin mold

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Best material for long work time, large size, master for epoxy resin mold

Hi all,

I'm totally new to all of this, so please forgive my ignorance.

I'm working on a project to create a sculpture 30" high (and about as wide and deep). The master can be made of anything I like, but must be compatible with epxoy resin that will be used to make the mold from the master.

Because of the size, I am using metal rabbit fencing as a structure to support the modeling material (and to check my proportions before I get too involved). Also because of the size, I am concerned about finding a kiln that can fire it.

I need to be able to sand and polish the master to a near-mirror finish for the molding process, then apply a release agent and epoxy resin & fiberglass mat to make the mold.

So - any suggestions on a good material to use? Is there anything that air dries to a hard enough surface to be sanded and polished? (Something that has a long working time, as long as it is kept moist)?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Talking Updated question

OK, I've done some more research, and I THINK I have a process, but I need your feedback, and I have some questions:

I am considering using Sculpey to create the model, then sanding, painting, sanding and buffing it to a mirror finish. I will then use latex rubber to make a mold, with fiberglass as the outer shell of the mold.

Using the mold, I plan to create copies of the original in epoxy resin and fiberglass mat, and eventually in polystyrene resin and fiberglass mat.

I would greatly appreciate your help with these questions:

1) Am I going down the right track? Will this process work?