Self-portrait critique? (WIP)

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Smile Self-portrait critique? (WIP)

Hi! Newbie here. I finally worked up the courage to post because this seems like a fantastic place to learn to improve.

I am not very practiced in digital painting (or painting in general) so I thought I'd attempt a self-portrait; I've used the photo attached as well as a few other photos as references (hence the differing colors). I'm aware that the composition isn't fantastic and that I'm just kind of... well, staring. xD I hadn't thought about that when I sat down to practice, to be honest. Obviously this is still a WIP... Feel free to critique anything and everything.

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    well, are you going for total realism? because if so, I'd say the colors are a bit off from the ones in the picture, but anyway.

the colors you picked for the shading/lighting (assuming you're not going for absolute realism) are very good, though a bit hard to tell since it's not smoothed over. I'd say the lighting on the upper part of the nose is a bit over done, because, going according to the picture, its not as bright there. I think the jaw should be a bit more defined, and the light in the eyes should just be a small round circle in the center, since that's where the pupil is, which is where the light is usually reflected.

also, the picture itself (the one you're using as a model) seems a bit blurry/out of focus, so it might be a good idea to sharpen it, but if I'm wrong, sorry, it's just the way it seems to me ^^;

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    No, I am not going for total realism. The room that the picture was taken in turns everything slightly yellow, so the colors were actually chosen based on several other pictures.