Acrylic Portrait Asignment(UPDATE:Finished. Critique on final anatomy & color please)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Acrylic Portrait Asignment(UPDATE:Finished. Critique on final anatomy & color please)

I'd appreciate critiques on this. Please be harsh. I'm sure my professor will be.

I'm working on an acrylic portrait of a friend of mine for class on Thursday. This is my very first time working with acrylic. I'm really not loving now fast it dries. I used the background to fiddle around with how the acrylic goes and on dries and shades so I didn't completely ruin the face. I needed to lay down the background anyway so that the wispy hair could be painted over it.

There IS more to the lower right of the painting but I needed background behind the hair there so the bg went over the pencil. There will also be a hint of shoulder under the hair on the right.

I'm painting more of this tonight so I'll update as I go.

Name:  PrisPortrait.jpg
Views: 186
Size:  341.0 KB

Last edited by MyOrangeHat; January 27th, 2008 at 09:42 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Good start!

Acrylics are indeed no fun. I don't know why they make people start painting with it.

I think your eyes are looking kind of flat. The lids don't look like they are wrapping around a spherical form. Remember that the lid shape is more angular towards the tear duct. If you try and make the curve with a smooth stroke it will flatten out.
    Also i think her left eye is too wide and is running off the side of her face. If your using referance double check that.