Questions about Ringling's Animation program
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Questions about Ringling's Animation program

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Questions about Ringling's Animation program

Hi all! I have recently been looking into schools with reputable programs in animation and have heard that Ringling is very respectable for its Computer Animation degree, and in fact had the top number of student screenings at SIGGRAH this last year for USA based schools.

My situation right now is this: I am a sophomore at Iowa State University and am becoming very disheartened with the fact that I am essentially blowing money on a program that will not teach me necessary skills to succeed in the animation industry. They don't start even introducing animation until the third year, and have only a handful of classes. I will have a lot of liberal arts credits to work with, as well as foundation drawing, painting, and history classes so I was wondering how those would work out in a transfer. When I look at schools such as Ringling I see so much more potential in learning, and I begin to doubt my original intention of attending the state school, doing individual learning from books and dvds, and later attending a grad school. I just don't wish to get stuck of the position of having a large amount of debt, and not enough knowledge or skills to justify it.

My question for those in the know is how effective are schools like Ringling at teaching the necessary skills and knowledge for a gig in the animation field? I want to contact Ringling itself for some more information and specifics on the program, but I am looking for advice from anyone that is attending Ringling, has graduated, or for anyone who has had experience in the industry.

If anyone has any advice of any kind to offer me, please feel free to respond. I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following