Art: Making a living in fine art and illustration.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Making a living in fine art and illustration.

Hey, im studying Fine art an illustration on a foundation level, and time is slowly running out for me to decide on my chosen career. I am still at a base skill level, so all doors are open, i have not overstretched myself in a single direction.

So what im asking is, how easy is it living off of your work? What type of work do you do? How much do you charge? Is it the good life?

At this stage i am wondering whether to move into graphics and illustration and use my design and photography skills to try for a steady job. Would this be wise? I would really appreciate any help in choosing the right path.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Define the good life.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    screw steady jobs. variety is the spice of life, even if that variety means you eat moldy bread for a few weeks

5. The Following User Says Thank You to sweetoblivion314 For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,923 Times in 757 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    You have to get your head around the fact that we live in 'the browser culture' and that fewer and fewer people buy paintings. The easel painting is slowly becoming an anacronism, a sort of high end version of craft fair knick knacks. When Leonardo Da Vinci was alive, paintings were incredibly rare and therefore sought after. Today we have trillions upon trillions of images flooding the system along with superb yet dirt cheap reproductions. The person painting away in their garret is to this world as is the crow pecking at the edible litter on the freeway to the rushing cars.