The best major for concept/character design at SCAD

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy The best major for concept/character design at SCAD

Hello. Um. ...So here's my problem.
    I am a freshman at SCAD and I want to do concept art, but specialize in characters (would be cool to work at Disney one day ^^) and I'm not sure whether I should major in Illustration or Sequential Art. 'Why sequential art?' you ask. Because it seems like there is a lot more concentration on drawing characters than in illustration. Classes like 'constructive animal anatomy for creature design', 'conceptual illustration', 'drawing hands and feet' and 'fantasy illustration.' (of course, I only get so many electives so I can't take them all...) Illustration major seems so general, but I always hear that if you got for concept artist you should get a degree in illustration.

And I could easily solve this by getting a major and minor- but I don't want to spend 579023851309 more dollars for another 2 years. And plus, I'm eager to move on past college

I just would like to hear everyone's opinion, advice, or just what they'd do in my situation. Thank you!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following