Art: Animation Project
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Animation Project

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Animation Project

I'm an illustration student from Sweden. I've decided to spend my three weeks free assignment on learning how to animate. I figure I might as well document what I'm doing because I believe there's alot of people in here that can give me advice.

Wasn't sure about the section. But this is definately a study and discovery for me.

Ambition
    I believe I won't have a shortfilm to show at the end of these weeks, though I'm hoping to have some short gestures animated with a character that I've been working on. The goal is not the finished product, rather the learning process and a glimps of the things needed to make a full animated movie. I have no experience doing something like this.

Plans
    I don't really know what I have to do yet, but I'm starting to get the idea (after my third day of working). Correct me if I'm wrong here;

Character sketches, showing gestures and movement. A simple shape that can be drawn over and over again without taking to much time.

Orthos. The character obviously shouldn't be to complex to figure out how to be drawn in every angle. Have to show it in a ortho(?).

Sculpture. I decided to take a couple of hours to try and make my character into a scultpure. To help me figure out it's shape and making it easier to bend it's limbs. Not necessary, but I wan't to do it.

Storyboard. Maybe this isn't as necessary, since I'll probably won't be able to do a longer film. But I probably need some kind of keyframes or important frames, showing my idea before I start with all the inbetween frames (feel free to correct the terminology).

Scanning, drawing, animating. Transfering to the computer and actually making it move.

If the time allows it, I'll try to add some basic soundeffects or a soundtrack. But I fear it won't.

Equipment