Sketchbook: update 8/23

View testimonialsView Artwork
Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Thread: update 8/23

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

update 8/23

I'm an art student at the University of Oregon and I'm trying to switch to a digital art major (portfolio due at the end of the month!). I came upon this website last August and was completely blown away by the talent on here. It inspired me to start drawing more (A LOT more) and ever since I've been drawing nearly everyday.

I just bought a pen tablet a few days ago, and am learning how to use Photoshop and Painter. If I can figure out how to post things in this thread, hopefully some of you can give me a few pointers of how to do certain tasks. Right now, I have almost no clue what I'm doing!

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Jamesy; August 23rd, 2011 at 03:30 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,766 Times in 648 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    I think the reason they are too huge to post is that they are *literally* too big. The one you have here is too big to fit on my screen in one piece. :/

Find out what dpi your scanner is going at - it looks at least 300, if not more. To bring down the file size, make it a) a jpeg, and b) go to Image -> Image Size and flip the switch from 'pixels' to 'precent' and set it at around 25%, or so (depending on the original size) and that will cut it down pretty dramatically.

There's no need for us to see the sketches at such a huge resolution anyway - it only makes them tougher to look at. Keep in mind that the web only goes on 72 dpi.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to daestwen For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    So I just resized the images to 3x4. Yet when I went to post the images, they came out super huge again. I checked the saved images to see if they saved under the size, and it says they did. I'll try again later I guess.