Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20

Thread: Problems with my Wacom pen (pressure sensitivity is gone,eraser doesn't erase) SOLVED

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts

    Problems with my Wacom pen (pressure sensitivity is gone,eraser doesn't erase) SOLVED

    I need some help, I was using my tablet when suddenly the pressure sensitivity stopped working, colours stay the same tone regardless of how hard I press the pen, also, the eraser doesn't erase anymore, it just works like a pen.

    I had the same problem when I first installed my tablet, but, unlike now, everything worked fine after restarting my computer.

    All the tablet settings are default and I didn't change any PS settings either.
    Last edited by NemesisOnline; February 7th, 2008 at 03:45 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Never mind, I fixed it. I just removed the driver and installed the latest version from the Wacom website and everything works fine again.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,258 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Photoshop seems to be the most picky with the drivers. I still have issues with it correctly dealing with pressure sensitivity when I have more than one tablet. The first one works fine with pressure and eraser the second one may not have pressure, and reinstalling will only get it to recognize the pressure, but not eraser.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    I kept having this problem, so I asked in the Wacom forum. The answer was to connect the tablet directly to the computer, not through a USB-hub. That fixed it.
    Last edited by NemesisOnline; January 26th, 2008 at 04:46 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    how do you connect it directly to the computer? ... it uses a usb hub connection i thought?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    This sometimes happens to me as well.
    If I open photoshop, then drag and drop a picture from a website, my eraser acts like a pen, all pressure sensitivity gone, etc.
    That's the only time it happens. At least so far.
    So I just save the picture (or pictures), close and re-open photoshop, and everything's back to normal.
    I haven't narrowed it down to specific file types yet, nor have I gone through any settings to see if I could figure this out.
    Slightly annoying, yes, but worse things could happen.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Meyow View Post
    how do you connect it directly to the computer? ... it uses a usb hub connection i thought?
    Your USB hub connects to a USB port on your computer, right? You should connect your tablet directly to a USB port on your computer, instead of to your hub.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    this happens every time I plug in my Wacom. Are you running a Vista OS?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Konskript View Post
    this happens every time I plug in my Wacom. Are you running a Vista OS?
    No, I'm running XP.
    Is your tablet connected to your computer through a hub?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Occidental_Martyr View Post
    No, I'm running XP.
    Is your tablet connected to your computer through a hub?
    If a hub is what I think it is, then no, its connected right into a port.
    I was reading that Vista is just dodgey when it comes to drivers (my scanner doesn't work the way it is supposed to and it takes my camera twice as long as it should to put pictures onto the pc).
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    A hub is just a device that increases the number of ports, like this one:
    http://www.vadela-shop.nl/images/091...02.0%20Hub.jpg

    Does restarting Photoshop fix the problem? It does for me sometimes.

    Maybe you should ask in the Wacom forums, they probably have a solution.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to NemesisOnline For This Useful Post:


  14. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nah I don't use one of them, and sometimes if i take out the tablet and re-insert it its works, but very rarely.

    I might give the forums a try.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
    I just can speak for apple mac OS and wacom, (i´m an apple tech) but I have had this problem with older intuos and the 4.x drivers on mac os X if they were plunged into the USB port of the keyboard. I bought an USB hub which had an own power supply, and it worked for me.
    With the 6.x drivers and the intuos 3 tablets the problem is gone. I have never figured it out for sure if it was the driver, the lack of enough power or an OS issue. I think it was a driver problem. It isn´t a photoshop or an adobe CS problem, that can i say for sure.

    Another point is that the tip of the pen needs to be replaced from time to time, you can pull it out with your teeth. The newer tablets (graphire 4 and intuos 2 and 3) have pens with removable tips, and in the intuos 3 series there are always as add on more tips in the pack you have bought. if a tip is used up you are not able to draw or click and it makes funny rectangles over the whole desktop. (at least with a mac.)
    I hope i could help you a little bit, and please excuse my english, it´s not my native tongue.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to nathie For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 5th, 2012, 11:25 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 26th, 2011, 11:49 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 16th, 2010, 09:30 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 2nd, 2009, 06:04 AM
  5. My tablet doesn't have pressure sensitivity...
    By Cheetah in forum PHOTOSHOP
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 12th, 2008, 01:16 PM

Members who have read this thread: 5

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • 424,149 Artists
  • 3,599,276 Artist Posts
  • 32,941 Sketchbooks
  • 54 New Art Jobs
Art Workshop Discount Inside

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook