Thanks

SpiritRaptor's Sketchbook

After checking out a few bits and bobs here i decided to post my own sketchbook as lately I have been working on some new concept work and hopefully in the future, a lot more.

So below are some extracts from my sketchbook, alas im not as far along as Id like to be with skills, however im hoping to learn alot from this site and get the opinions of members and artists alike

-SpiritRaptor

Thank you for viewing

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks

Some life drawing work

I wanted to learn more about getting a form down onto paper, also to study the human figure more, so here are two pages from my sketchbook while sketching people at my local shopping center. I started out with pencil, but then moved onto my brush pen, seemed to help me just get the form down but not worried about the detail, this is my first try at this, so bare with me

-SpiritRaptor

Thanks

More ink sketchs

Just another page from my sketchbook, just trying to get peoples shapes down.

-SpiritRaptor

Thanks
    all your stuff looks very impressive!
    i like design of the rooms.

keep it up!

Thanks
    It looks like you have a good grasp on things like proportion and perspective. And yes, brush pens are invaluable for those life-drawing sessions. The cool thing about form studies, is that you can avoid having to illustrate lots of detail. Try and be more expressive with your brush pen, which can be achieved if you experiment with different ways to hold the pen. With form studies, concentrate on completing the sketch in as few strokes as possible. Think about different things as well: like how can you use your brush pen to describe volumes with just light and shadow and not just lines? While these kinds of studies are usually expressive and spontaneous, think about different results you would like to achieve.

P.S. Try using the Faber Castell brush pen if you're not already.

Thanks