Freelance Pricing?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Red face Freelance Pricing?

I'm new to the game concept art and texturing scene and I was wondering if anyone was familiar with pricing concerning game textures and concept art? How does one go about figuring out the value of texture work? How is texture art calculated(per pixel, per hour...)?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Rares Halmagean For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 11,070 Times in 2,623 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    haha...no.

there are no standard rates. each country has a different range. it all comes down to what you can do it for plus whatever profit you feel is fair. do not undersell yourself...ie work for ten dollars an hour or something silly....

Basically take the hourly rate you would be happy with. Double it. Ask for that and if they say no, then come down from there. If you do not want to go back and forth take the hourly rate you are happy with and add twenty percent. if they say yes you just got a raise. if they say no you can come back down ten or the full twenty percent.

mb bills hourly. Our shanghai studio bills less than our SF studio due to costs of living differences...thats what i mean about there is no standard way of pricing...it all comes down to what you can do it for. if it is a higher texture or painting resolution it just takes more time...thus the higher price. there is no per pixel price. funny thought though.

jason

LEVEL UP! - ConceptArt.Org online workshops are on sale- Join now and get 25% off!

5. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Jason Manley For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,567 Times in 753 Posts
    Follows
    Following