• good

11 73.33%
  • great

0 0%
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Red face need advice for digital painting

Im still newbie in CG world, and still practicing, and I only using one or two brushes everytime I draw with CG..
    and my basic drawing usually with manga and anime style, I try to get out from the shell, and this is my first attempt ..
    is not that realistic I know,it still look like manga/anime style..

what do you think ?
    what should I do to made this become more realistic, resize her eyes? more shadow on the cheek?

and how about the critics to this pic overall?

the colour are dead? wrong lighting?

I need coments and critics to improve my art TAT pleasee

and thank you so much

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    thats really pretty first off
    second off...im no expert but i'd say what stands out as needing the most work is her tail. Scales are annoying because they need to have individual shading as well as overall shading on whatever they happen to be on and in your image they appear to only have the second part.
    Your shadows on the girl look a little "blocky", there isnt a smooth transition into the shadows or highlights
    I can see what you were going for with the bluer shadows but they look kind of awkward, try mixing them with skin toned shadows as well because they sort of look like lighting. I know she is blue and the water is blue but i just think they stand out a little too much but that might just be me...More tones will and to the depth and make it less flat looking
    Also the moon is REALLY bright and sort of distracting from the mermaid herself, it distracts from the focal point. Try blending it in to the sky more by going over it lightly with the sky color