Critique for Sketchbook Pages for College Portfolio
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Critique for Sketchbook Pages for College Portfolio

I'm trying to get together a portfolio particularly geared towards CalArts. I need help in decided which artwork would be good for sending in.

I basically need to know which art to send in and which can be improved and how. These pages are from my personal concept art sketchbook, and they were all drawn from life:

Any feedback is welcome.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi Melissa, welcome aboard!

I'm no expert in what Cal Arts would be exactly looking for but I'm liking the 4th and 5th images here.

The 4th has real loosey goosey gestural lines which work well in animation! The 5th has a lot of emotion and feeling in it.

The backgrounds would be good if you filled up the whole page I think. The 3rd page of sketches are a bit too stiff. Try to get expressions/emotions into your work. For instance, a sketch with an old couple (granparents) interacting with their baby/toddler...does that make sense?

Here's a link to a girl who went to Cal Arts. Take a look through her drawings and I think it may give you an idea of what they like....uh, I think! Hopefully someone can give a better idea for you!

http://www.mariinukai.com/

Good luck.

You are a level 8 ninja and even though you have a lot of weapons sometimes your ninja moves are your most powerful.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thank you for the feedback! I'll definitely take a look in that link

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Here's a couple more life drawings I did at school today:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    This last set of images are closer to being caricatures than actual life drawings. Do up a Google search under both topics and you'll see what I mean. Knowing the difference when presenting your portfolio is a good thing.

Thanks
    Follows