Sketchbook: Jade's Sketchpad

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Jade's Sketchpad

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Jade's Sketchpad

After lurking here a bit (a couple hours over several weeks/months), it looks like the way to get started is more-or-less to post a sketchbook.... but before we get to that, I'll give a brief artistic bio.

I'm self-taught aside from the basics you'd learn in a High School art class... so I've had no figure drawing classes. I drew a lot in elementary school, but not-so-much in Jr high and high school (which caused me to lose a bit of my imagination-- I'm still recovering from its loss). I really did want to take art classes in college, when I randomly stumbled on an animator's art forum and was inspired to draw again. However, my engineering classes and working to pay the bills took up most of my time. I have improved a lot with figure drawings in that time, though I'm quite certain my anatomy still needs work.

Right now, I draw for hobby as I have free time. Mostly I draw others' role-play characters-- rarely, I'll draw something for myself. I attribute this to a recovering imagination... as my first pitfall is first thinking of WHAT to draw when I want to dip into the other hemisphere of my brain.

Being inquisitive, I am always looking for ways to improve. I've really grown to enjoy my "cartoon" style of drawing, but I'd like to bring more depth into my drawings... other than that, I'm just along for the ride.

One area I'd like to improve in is placing characters into interesting backgrounds. In the past, I've drawn either one or the other-- though lately, I've focused more on characters than backgrounds due to lack of time.