JPZilla Progression: My Journey (LOTS of images)

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

JPZilla Progression: My Journey (LOTS of images)

Hey conceptart, this is my 1st post! Here's my progression with drawing and coloring with Photoshop. I think I made a lot of improvements throughout. This is during a span of a couple of years... I pretty much taught myself how to do everything and I am still learning. I hope I can learn a lot here. Here we go!

NOTE: I used a mouse to color and sometimes draw for most of these. I finally got a tablet and used it on the last 3 pieces. What a difference!

Attached Images Attached Images                                                    
    Last edited by jpzilla; November 22nd, 2007 at 04:40 AM. Reason: gramatical errors
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Progression, that's the word , Chun li and the gladiator wearing magneto's helmet are my faves, keep the good work!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi, there is no doubt you've made some pretty strong improvements, but you've still got a long road ahead of you. If you want to keep making advancements (and I'm assuming that you do) you're going to need to start making studies, and diligently practicing the fundamentals of art and illustration. Starting with form and lighting are definitely not bad places to start, given that with figurative work this will also involve study of anatomy. To show anatomy properly it needs to be light and defined with form. Looking at the early American illustrators wouldn't be a bad thing since their pictures and stories were simple yet showed so much in form, lighting and shapes. Shapes, composition and value placement are equally important in your picture making and deserve their own time to be thought about and processed before you begin your final image.

Thanks
    Thanked 5,191 Times in 1,724 Posts
    Follows