Worst experience at art school?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Worst experience at art school?

What's the worst thing that's happened to you? Something pretty annoying has happened to me, and I want to know if this is a typical art school experience. If it it a typical art school experience... does that mean this stuff will happen to me in the "real art world?" Oh god, what have I gotten myself into?

I'm a freshman. I have to take 3d design as part of the foundation year even though I have no experience or skill with 3d work. The homework was very difficult for me and I didn't complete all of it. So, the teacher decided to drop me from the class. At the time she dropped me, I had gotten a B+, an A, and an F (for the homework I didn't do). So, I hadn't failed at the time. FYI, there was nothing in the syllabus that indicated this kind of punishment for not doing work. Before I took this 3d class, being kicked out of any class was not a possibility in my mind. I considered failing was a possibility, of course... but not being kicked out when I wasn't failing. Especially since I didn't break any rules.

I argued with her and got her to agree to let me back in, but only if I made up all of the previous homework. I agreed. We had an official verbal contract: I would re do all of my previous work, she would let me remain in the class.

I made up all of the homework. I was completing all of the classwork. I WAS PASSING THE FREAKING CLASS! Then, one day, I was 5 minutes late. She said if I was late for class 1 more time, she would kick me out. She then locked the door because about 5 other students where late from lunch break. After they banged on the door a few times, she opened it and yelled at them in front of the class. But did she threaten to kick them out? No.