Threads of concentration.

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Threads of concentration.

Long story short: I am a student in need of serious concentration skills.

short story long: For the past week or so, I've been working on a project for school. Here's the problem: I need the internet to complete it.

What's the problem with Internet? Distractions. I'll be working on my research for 2 minutes, then find myself hours later, browsing through forums and youtube videos and the like. Before I actually "begin" the act of "not doing work" I say to myself, "oh, I'll just take a look to see what's up on blah blah blah forums. won't take more than five." then it's ten minutes. fifteen. before you know it, I've lost 2 hours of my time, just internet surfing. The reason I put "threads of concentration" for the title, is that for each place I go to, there is like a vast canyon of stuff to do/read/listen/watch, that I can't seem to get out of.

I'm using wikipedia a lot, and when I find myself clicking on a link, the links never stop. I went from reading about photosynthesis, to something about the sun and heat waves, and then the moon, and then the solar system, and then mars, and then water on mars, and then extraterrestrials, and then paranormal events, and finally, to a weird "red rain" that happened on India, that people speculate could be extraterrestrial life raining down on us. It's annoying as hell: I CAN'T STOP READING. SO MUCH TO READ, SO LITTLE TIME.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_rain_in_Kerala

The exact same goes for conceptart, in terms of links leading me more and more off topic. Say I went to the art discussion thread, to check on a thread I posted on, (I rarely post btw). Seconds later, I see a few links: so I click. turns out that site is massive. so I click some more. and more. and more. Until I eventually end up back at conceptart.org.

These "threads" of links and stuff keep me from doing my work.