Page 1 of 19 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks

Nintendo DS / Colors! – Setup Tutorial

After I have been asked by several people about how to set up the Nintendo DS (lite) to work with colors, I thought I'd rather post a HOW-TO here. I'm not an expert and had to work myself through a lot of Google pages and forum archives to make it work, so I'm not taking responsibility if you nuke your DS

Nintendo DS Lite

For those who do not know what the buzz is all about: The Nintendo DS (lite) is a portable gaming device that comes with 2 screens (DS = dual screen), WiFi support and a stylus. But you can use it as a painting device as well, something like a Wacom Cintiq, just smaller, cheaper and with a computer build in. You can use either the original DS or the DS lite, but I recommend using the DS lite. The LCD screens are brilliant, while the DS screen is rather dull and dark. And hands down, it looks hot, while the old DS looks as if a toaster mated a blender.

Colors!

Selfmade, free appz for portables are called "Homebrew". There are about 5 painting applications at the moment, the best so far is Colors! It is equipped with the basic functions you need to paint digitally.

• 1024px wide document
    • color-picker
    • 2x/4x zoom
    • a colorwheel
    • hard/soft brushes
    • pressure-sensitivity for both, opacity and size
    • horizontal/vertical image flipping
    • PLAYBACK function (see the whole process of a picture)
    • Saving to up to 8 slots
    • Uploading your pics to the official Colors! gallery via WiFi

Accessoires you'll need to get Colors! running on your DS

M3 DS Simply / R4 Revolution adapter cartridge