Art: Where to begin
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Where to begin

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Where to begin

I'm a former art student at SCAD (Currently working in a music store out in Charleston) and sculpting is something I've wanted to do for awhile but haven't had the time to learn the methods how. I browsed the sculpting forum so far and aside from the two tutorials on top still have some questions that are more beginner oriented:

My first question is, what type of tools are a must-have for sculpture makers, and what type of clay as well?

My second question is, what are some good basic things to start doing models of ?

And also how do you get the clay to blend in when attaching multiple pieces of it together so it looks like one solid as opposed to a really poorly blended mixture of clay shapes?

Thank you!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    tools depend on the size your working in, and the detail level. you can make alot of tools yourself with some wire and handles, your hands are really good tools,

and I feel doing human anatomy was both fun and a great learning err thing too do.
    try making a sculpt of an arm or a person just standing. posing or something, I started out with one sculpt of a dragon and ended upp now having 4-5 sculpts that I'm working on according too my mood.

So I guess there's no "right" or "wrong" answers for this.
    and making a consept sketch helps alot.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Super sculpey is a personal favorite, wan't too try castecine or what's it called but I can't find it in Sweden

Thanks
    Follows
    Following