Art: Acrylics vs. Oils

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Acrylics vs. Oils

It might be a stupid question for some of you but is not so clear to me. I'm still a newbie in term of art and all different medium.

I've been playing for the past 3 months with Acrylics and I want to try oils. Some people told me it was possible to get the same result but acrylics was cheaper. So I'm curious to know, what is the big difference between them?

I searched around CA but it seem that no one is a big fan of acrylics.
    And the reason I started with acrylics is to practice the colors mixing, it was indeed cheaper and I'm not sure if I should move to oils...

If anyone can clear this out... It will be greatly appreciated.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Acrylics or oils is nearly a religious conversation. I personally use oils after having a brief study of acrylics. Here is what I can tell you.

1. Acrylics dry fast and can only be made to dry slowly if additives are used.
    2. Oils can either either dry quickly or slowing deeping on method used or additives used.
    3. Oils are more forgiving to use than acrylics due to the generally longer drying time.
    4. To me, acrylics seem to have a plasticy look to them when dry, probably because they are polymer based.
    5. All the old masters used oils because they didn't have acrylics.
    6. You can paint oils over acrylic, but not acrylic over oil.
    7. Mixing colors with acrylics will not be wasted time if you move to oils.
    8. You can get a cheap set of student oils are places like walmart and try them out to see if you like them without going broke.
    9. Don't decide which one is better for you without trying them both.

Whatever you do, don't look at my Sketchbook and Painting Thread!

"I reject your reality and substitute my own" - Adam Savage, Mythbusters