"You're going to be an illustrator?! Like cartoons and stuff?!"

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

"You're going to be an illustrator?! Like cartoons and stuff?!"

So, if there is a thread already, shoot me. I'm sure there is, and it's probably going to be right below this one as soon as I post it.

I find it extremely funny that anytime anyone asks what I'm going to school for, they end up not respecting me anymore. That's a bit of a blanket statement, for there are the occasional people that think it is an admirable thing to pursue ones goals, but the others are very frustrating.

No matter how I put it, artist, illustrator, visual media, anything! As soon as they know that I am an artist, I may as well not exist. Their eyes glaze over and they pretend to be interested, but it's a very horrible kind of pretending. Almost as if they are joking on me silently.

Now, it's not that I let it get to me to much. It's just that I have to work or be around some of these people pretty often. I kind of like that they think it is abnormal to be an artist, because looking in on this community from the outside I thought it was strange as well. Once you are in the middle of something, it feels completely normal until you step back and look, or someone explains it to you the way that they see it.

How do you explain to people that you are going to be an artist in a way that sounds less crazy?

I think that you can't, exactly. It may be possible, but I don't see how. There are just going to be some people who think it is great, or some people who think you are insane.
    The only way, maybe, to prove them wrong is to become a professional, and then some will still disapprove.

Now, I'll let some others ramble.

What are your opinions? What are some funny stories that you have regarding people finding out that you are going to be an artist/are already a professional?