Thanks

tall figure/ monster

HI!
    I'm new to sculpting but started to build things out of plaster in the last time! Because i really enjoyed it i began to create my first serious work - a tall creature (over 2 meters). I started to form the shape out of a wire mesh which i covered with plaster afterwards. The base shape is finished but i still will add a few things like a tongue.
    Then i painted the whole thing with varnish (painting not finished yet). Unfortunately i had to support the figure by a pale.
    c&c very welcome!!!
    cheers

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Wow i applaud you for your ambition, but alot of things with this figure just arent meshing very well and there is so much dispraportion which im sure probably comes from the work flow in which you crated this figure. Have you ever seen the work flow of Ron mueck he realy has the best process for making large scale sculpts.
    Site
    BLOG

SketchBook

"it's much easier to scale up from simplicity than to scale back from complexity"

Thanks
    this "disproportion" was on porpuse! it wasn't my aim to sculpture a creature which is based on the human being's (or any other real existing creature) anatomy! i.e. i know that the forearm is nearly two times as long as the upper arm and so on.

Nevertheless thank you for your comment!
    cheers

Thanks

Wink

there can be a lot of disproportions in an imaginary creature, but it must always have a harmonious flow to it's shape. Your sculpture looks like a bunch of body parts stiched together. You must study how the shapes flow in animals and humans...you must study a bit more anatomy. At the moment it doesn't look right. The fact that it is an imaginary creature is no excuse for bad anatomy or shapes.

Keep it up!!

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by iatriki View Post
    Your sculpture looks like a bunch of body parts stiched together.